Kacy Martinez Clinches AMA National Enduro Series Championship

Kacy Martinez Clinches AMA National Enduro Series Championship at Penultimate Round

Round 8 – AMA National Enduro Series – September 18, 2016


PARK HILLS, Mo. – It was a solid day for KTM racers at the Lead Belt National Enduro for Round 8 of the AMA National Enduro Series. FMF KTM Factory Racing Team’s Kacy Martinez wrapped up the Women’s A/B Championship one round early with a class win, while her Pro Class teammate Russell Bobbitt earned 2nd overall to carry his championship points lead into the final round of racing. SRT/KTM rider Steward Baylor Jr. earned his second Pro Class victory, where he moved into 2nd place in the championship standings.

Held in Park Hills, Missouri, the penultimate round saw ideal track conditions after almost two days of rainfall leading up to Sunday’s racing. Most of the course soaked up the much-needed rain but a few mudholes still lingered throughout the woods on race day.

Steward Baylor came out swinging to capture the test-one victory aboard his KTM 450 XC-F. From there, the South Carolina native didn’t miss a beat as he went on to capture three additional test-wins and two 2nd place finishes throughout the six-test competition.

Bobbitt got off to a slow start, where he finished 4th place on the opening test. Bobbitt continued to improve with each test as he powered his KTM 250 XC-F into 3rd place for the next three sections. On test four, the four-time AMA National Enduro Champion captured his first win of the day after overcoming a small crash on the waterfall crossing. Bobbitt was able to capture a close 2nd-place finish on the sixth and final test, which ultimately gave him 2nd overall for the day.

Bobbitt: “I’m feeling alright about 2nd place today. Obviously I would like to be in the center of the box but I’m heading into the final round with the points lead and I’m looking forward to a good race in Tulsa!”

Bobbitt holds a 19-point lead over S. Baylor in the Pro Class Championship Standings as the series heads into its final round in October.

SRT/KTM rider Cory Buttrick earned a top-five overall finish after a consistent string of top-five finishes, including a 3rd place finish in the final test of the day.

FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Kacy Martinez clinched the 2016 AMA National Enduro Championship after securing her 5th victory of the season in the Women’s A/B Class. Martinez led her class the entire day while maintaining an impressive position inside the top 50 overall out of over 400 riders.

Martinez: “I couldn’t be happier about winning this championship! I would like to thank the entire KTM crew for all their support and hard work, and for believing in me. I’ve put in a lot of hard work to get to this point and I’m so thankful for everyone that has supported me along the way.”

Next Event: October 23, 2016 – Sand Springs, Oklahoma

Overall Results
Steward Baylor Jr. – KTM
Russell Bobbitt – KTM
Josh Strang
Grant Baylor
Cory Buttrick – KTM
Nick Fahringer
Ryder Lafferty
Dylan MacRitchie
Nathan Federer
Drew Higgins – KTM

Women’s A/B Results
Kacy Martinez – KTM
Jamie Wells
Sarah Baldwin
Destiny Slawson – KTM
Kristina Zmuda – KTM
Danielle Slawson – KTM
Dawn Silvia
Megan Kennon – KTM
Tayler Bonecutter
Lauren Stretz – KTM

Overall Championship Standings
Russell Bobbitt – 199
Steward Baylor Jr. – 182
Grant Baylor – 171
Josh Strang – 139
Jesse Groemm – 109

Women’s A/B Championship Standings
Kacy Martinez – 200
Shawn Davidson – 156
Ashlee Applewhite – 124

Hey, you! Why not take a moment and comment? You know you want to.